Do I have a rarity? Possibly Sc 336 10.75 x 12 x 12 x 12

IMG_0407
IMG_0408

I am no expert on this series, it normally drives me somewhat batty trying to figure stuff out and normally I avoid trying to do so.

This is as my best guess Sc 336 but it is perforated 10.75 along the top x 12 x 12 x 12.

I see other issues with combo perforations, but I can't find anything regarding this issue.

I'm also interested in the 10.75 perforation which is along the top through the guideline and is very sharp compared to the others. I'm wondering if it is a manufactured perforation.

If it were manufactured, it is a pretty bizzarre stamp to do it with, it has a giant tear in it.

It was discovered in a normal USA collection as a number 336, the collector did not notice the varying perforations along the top, so they did not create it.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I believe the perfs are fake.
    Remember fakers do practice on cheaper and damaged stamps untill they perfect their fakery.
    The reason I believe them to be fake perfs are as follows:
    1).The perfs are of different sizes
    2) perfpins have a slit in them to get the tiny piece of paper out and these always line up the same. Notice the Perfs on the right (probably real perfs.) have a tiny bit of paper and the holes are not clean cut at about 7 or 8 o'clock this is were the slit in the pins normally are. On the left side ( also probably real Perfs.) The perfs are all clean cut. The top perfs almost all are not clean cut and the extra bits are all over the place.
    3) The center plate line at the top probably means it was a straight edge stamp.
    Paul
  • Hi Paul!

I was also of the mind that the plate line indicated it was once a straight edge stamp.

Sadly no windfall for the estate this came from then.