Thousands of Scott stamps

My brother died and left thousands of stamps ( mint , scott , collectors and souvenirs and world stamps from 1867-2005. I want To sell everything Or How should i sort it out ? I have little knowledge on stamps collection . Thanks so much

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited March 2019 2 LikesVote Down
    Hi Nel, Sorry to hear of your loss. I know that having a stamp collector in the family that is no longer with us can be painful. As to your situation, do you plan on being a collector or are you looking to just off load the collection?

It is rather hard for any of us to help you without some kind of background and what you are really looking to do. Also, not knowing what this collection looks like leaves one with thousands of questions. If you are looking to open a store here at Hip Stamp, then you need to get a catalogue and learn what you have and then list the items. Or put a bunch up for auction. But having a catalogue would be the best first step. You could even go to the library and look some of those stamps up for some kind of value. Just know that generally stamps are sold for approximately 20-50% less current value.

If you have any further questions we can help, but make sure you add a scan of the item in question.
  • Thank you , i greatly appreciate your comment . I Will sell this by bunch . Will try To learn the basic first Or any store in Ontario that i Can bring all these ?. How would i know the Current value ? Scott cat price ranges from $98-$1 per stamp.
  • Check out this link from the American Philatelic Society:

https://stamps.org/Services/Inherited-a-Collection

Also, if your brother was a member of the APS, you can request help from the APS Estate Advisory Service. The service is free to family of deceased APS members. Information is provided on the same page as the link provided above.
  • Thanks a lot ! Will Check on it .