Managing your stamp collecting time!

Hello to all! I am new to the Hipstamp forum so I thought a question or two would break the ice. 1) How much time do you spend on your stamps; 2) if you are a seller how much time do you spend on preparing your orders (packaging, mailing, etc.). Thanks.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • First, welcome to Hipstamp! As to how much time I spend...too much??? Not enough??? Depends on who you ask in my house lol.

I'm relatively new to the site as a seller (started in January) with decades of accumulations to sell. As a seller, I generally spend about 20 hours a week cataloging, scanning, posting, pulling, packaging, etc. I'm pretty much in it every day, at least an hour, usually more. And I have a regular full-time job. But this is how I relax. I love sending out stamps to other collectors and find it really interesting to see what others collect and what they find interesting.
  • As a seller, time spent on orders, is minimal. We basically just need to print an invoice, and pull the items together, which are already tagged and labeled, put them into dealer card(s), pop in envelope with pre-printed return address, and just write the Ship To address on the front. Take to post office, ship by class (regular, registered, express) depending on value of items.

As a collector... I spend a lot of time, and I have a massive US collection covering the entirety of the Scott Specialized catalog. Few of the big ticket items missing, but not much. Still have a whole in my C3a and my 164... Could do with a 5 and 80 - 82, and 85A, but those are just crazy.

Current obsession is Private Die, to be honest. About 70% of the way there now across all types a, b, c, d, e, u.