How to handle when buyer does not receive order

I have been selling on Hipstamps for about 9 months now and have had several issues with the delivery of stamps (mostly by USPS). On very small orders, I have offered a refund a few times (after they did not receive anything for 2 months) but this is happening more and more and I can't do that anymore. What is the correct protocol for responding to buyers when their order does not arrive. FYI - I am very cognizant of proper postage and always double check addresses. Any guidance on this would be appreciated from you long time sellers. Thanks in advance.
Mark S.

Comments

• 20 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited April 2023 3 LikesVote Down
    If the buyer reports the non-receipt transaction to PayPal, AND you do not have proof of mailing (meaning tracking number), then you are SOL.

I'm not criticizing your mailing choice. Not mailing the order at a parcel rate to get a tracking number would be considered self-insuring your shipment. Most of us do it on the smaller orders. It's a risk we take. If it's the same buyer claiming non-receipt, I'd be suspicious, and tell the buyer that the refund sent is the last one, and that buyer should not buy from me again.

If you're having difficulty with many of your mailings to different buyers, then I would review how you are sending the orders. Are you over stuffing the envelopes, and not paying the non-machinable surcharge? The envelope can get stuck in the sorting machinery. Do you put a packing slip in the envelope in case something happens to the outside of the envelope to where the sending and return addresses are unreadable? A packing slip will contain those addresses. Are you shipping internationally, and do not use a customs form and sending via international parcel rates? The receiving country may be disposing of your envelope. Think about how you would like to receive stamps that you buy, and pack them accordingly for your customers.