The Age Old Question about Color

I've been collecting for almost 60 years and I still cannot find a way to accurately ID stamp color. I'm hoping some of you might have a solution that actually works. So, I get this classic British Colony stamp that is supposed to be Cat #xxx, perf 12.5 and #1 wmk. I look it up in Scott and it says "1d lake". But hold on a minute, there's also a carmine/lake variety and it makes a big difference in value. Hey, no problem, I dust off my Stanley Gibbons Color gizmo and find lake and carmine/lake. Oops, neither matches the stamp. Damn, I find my Stanley Gibbons catalogue and it says lake and deep carmine. Surely, since Gibbons makes the color gizmo, its colors are accurately noted in the catalog. Well, no. Gibbons lists colors in the catalogue that do not exist in the gizmo. There are also colors in the gizmo that I have never seen on a stamp (and I've seen a lot). Then I think, "The stamp is over 150 years old, perhaps the color has darkened with age, or maybe the color was bleached by sitting out too long in the sunlight?" Nice, if any of those are true, what color do I actually have?

I check on the Internet. It seems that almost everyone who has a Stanley Gibbons Color gizmo thinks it is totally useless. So I call my friend who is an expertizer for the APS in the German area. I know many of the stamps he deals with are very old and there are typically 2-7 color variants, often with more than one color per stamp. Hah! I am sure he has a solution. His answer, "I have the best German color palette money can buy. I never use it. To determine the color, I compare it to colors of stamps that have been certified that I have in my collection."

Well, thanks for clearing that up. So his carmine/lake for country X may be different for carmine/lake for country Y, depending on the expert.