Shipping gifts internationally.

I ask here, because it's the easiest way to get a quick answer (without trudging through official sources).
Is a gift considered to be "merchandise"? In other words, is it OK to send a stamp internationally at the standard rate ($1.20, I think it is now) if the item is an honest-to-gosh, genuine gift?

Comments

• 25 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Great question, Doug!
  • I'm no expert on this but my 2 cents....If money doesn't change hands, then I think you're good to go. It isn't merchandise at that point. I do giveaways on HS regularly and often the winner is international and I send it at the international first class rate of $1.20. Maybe I'll get in trouble saying this but since it is a gift and something I wasn't actually compensated for and something that can't really be taxed then I think it's ok. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong though.
  • Thanks, Greg. I'll await input from the official peanut gallery.
  • Just don't tell anyone about me if I'm wrong. :smiley:
  • Wow! I thought I was only six feet tall! I'm sure they will still let me smuggle stamps out of prison,,,,,won't they?? Mouse is safe though I'm sure!
  • edited June 2021 4 LikesVote Down
    Customs forms MUST be used on any goods of any value. Depending on the value and where it's sent the importing country can charge customs and duties even on gifts. International first class letter rates can ONLY include documents.

https://faq.usps.com/s/article/First-Class-Mail-International

Customs Declaration

PS Form 2976 is the correct customs form for FCPIS® mailpieces and for FCMI® mailpieces that require a customs form. Customers must use an electronically-generated PS Form 2976 that transmits their customs data electronically or they must use a hardcopy PS Form 2976-R and submit it to a USPS retail clerk who will electronically generate a PS Form 2976.