Scanner Recommendations

I want to upgrade my scanner as my current scanner does a great job, but I know it can be better.

What is an effective, efficient scanner in your opinion? I've read Epson is good? It would be good if the scanner had software that could automate some actions like "cropping" on multiple stamps on one image then you can save each cropped image as a specific file name. I currently do this all manually front and back. It's tedious and I'm sure there is a better way. I've been selling stamps for almost 2 years so still a newbie i think. Appreciate any advice!

Thank you
Clint

Comments

• 17 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Standalone image bursting program - been using it for several years

http://drakeserver.com/
  • I second Carol's suggestion. I've been using that software for years, and can't imagine trying to do that manually.

Regarding the scanner, I think there are a number of good, reasonably-priced options out there. If you are happy with the quality of the scans you are currently getting, and are just looking for a better way to split out images, the link Carol suggested is my recommendation. No need to replace the scanner.
  • I agree, Jason Drake's StampBurst program is the way to go. Here's his web page http://www.drakeserver.com/
    The problem I've found with auto-cropping scanners is that they will crop too close to the stamp images, usually even cutting off perf tips, which makes the images unsuitable for use in sales listings.
  • This is an old thread, but I am trying to install the drake software. I am fairly tech savvy and I'm getting just a cmd screen for a second and nothing else when I try to install. I have Java 8 and I've added www.drakeserver.com to the exception list. Any ideas on what to try is appreciated.

Are there other tools that do the same thing? I can't keep cropping front and back manually.

Thanks,
    Clint