If You Hate Fun Silly Chatter, Skip This Thread

Comments

• When scientists became the oracles of truth
  • That too....hey wait,,,,I'm a scientist!!!! Not really, I'm a geologist. :smiley:
  • I almost followed that field in college. Have you ever challenged aspects of the geological dogma du jour?
  • 25 years plus of turning to the right and making hole. Not quite sure which, of many, dogmas du jour you refer to though. I challenge everything and everyone typic
  • Ideas bucking, say, uniformitarianism (ie:Velikovsky's Worlds in Collision) or Grand Canyon carved out by torrents of water over a much shorter time? Arguments over long ages (rates of salinization, our sun's consumption extrapolated backwards)? Or considering the merit of proposals that go against current conventional thought? I agree with your mindset of skepticism but open (that second part is often missing - we all like to imagine we are still teachable)
  • edited August 2021 0 LikesVote Down
    We have to careful here .... of drifting off silly/fun topic. So let me interject a Larson comic inwhich two cannibals were sitting around eating by a large stew pot, with a clown costume laying on the ground. The one asked the other "Does this taste funny to you?" Oh, it's time for my warm milk and cookies, night night
  • Two other cannibals over dinner.

"You know, I never did like your mother-in-law."

"That's ok. Try the pasta."
  • Oh, I remember remember reading about Velikovsky's theories as a kid when Carl Sagan and crew were debunking them. Then I read a interesting novel by James Hogan about 20 years ago that made me evaluate them in a new light.