Comments

• 29 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • edited October 2021 1 LikesVote Down
    I checked that out. It's an interesting cover but truly, that seems rather excessive. His store has normal stuff, I might add but this could be a 'massive swing at a wild pitch'. I would ask the seller directly "what gives with this listing?" I've done that and 90% of the time they say they saw "others" ask foolish amounts ( usually on ETSY) and so they just copycat it. In this case, the seller seems to be a philatelist, with 100% positive feedback, so not the typical profile of a foolish listing. He really has appended an interesting explanation of the covers travels and Sea Post cancel, he seems to have spent time evaluating the unique nature of this cover. Since I'm not an expert on sea post covers, I would ask others opinions for sure.
  • edited October 2021 0 LikesVote Down
    1886 dated from Maine to India well that's cool maybe just because I live in Maine least most my life but I also collect India stamps mostly Postage Due/Revenue and love the King and elephant Indian Stamps! But like listed above $25 maybe but $25,000 maybe if it had multiple Penny Black's and Jack Black's used on cover!
  • I have no problem with this listing. If you have an item you don't really know the value of, but can see that it could be philatelicly significant, offering it for sale at a prohibitive price should attract people who know what it's worth. Then hopefully, someone contacts you who's an expert in whatever niche the item belongs.
  • A few words to the many new collectors here whoare more comfortable with Stamps than Covers
    1. Look at the 3rd scan, the backside.. See how the flap at the left stops abruptly.. goes nowhere close to the top corner. That is called REDUCTION.. or say the Cover has been Reduced.. It is a evere form of Damage.. the left side has clearly been cut down to create a straight edge avoid it.