Advice on shipping

Hello, I am looking to start selling my stamp collection. I was wondering if anyone has any tips on the best way to ship stamps that is both economical and protects the integrity of the stamp?

Thank you!
-El

Comments

• 14 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I've been selling for 2 months so far I find that $1-2 is best for US shipping cost n international $2-3.5 this is for a ounce or less more prices for cost of shipping can be found on the USPS Site, also I use cheap air tight jewelry like plastic bags got over 6 sizes for small stamps to large stamps/order's protection against the weather on shipping cost $1-2 for a 100 count at Wal-Mart! Search the arts n crafts section close to the jewelry crafts!
  • Stamps need to be sent with a stiff envelope which costs you .58 for the first ounce plus a .30 for non machinable surcharge for a total of .88 plus the cost of the envelope and supplies for the packaging. It is illegal to send postage stamps out of the US by regular first class mail since they are considered merchandise that needs a customs form and must be sent by First Class International package service which costs $14.25 to $19.75 depending on the country you are sending it to. You can send it by regular mail but the item could be confiscated and if you have many complaints the government might come after you with a large fine. Also a few countries, like the UK, wants you to have a tax number.
    We do not sell internationally.
    We have been selling and shipping items for over 30 years.
  • Thank you both for you help!