Jamaica MR6 or MR6c?

The Jamaica 1916 War Tax stamp MR6 has a variety (MR6c) which is described as having the "S" inserted by hand. I am no Jamaica expert here by any stretch but the "S" on this one does not align with the "TAMP". Is this indicative of the MR6c or this the normal MR6 type? I have seen a couple of examples here on HS which claim to be the MR6c but not having a genuine example to compare, I am skeptical. 7033

Comments

• 16 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hey Greg. I found this example on an old auction listing.
    20220412_225724
  • So the "S" in this case is offset to the left but better aligned with the "TAMP". Font seems consistent. Do you know if this one had a cert? Makes me think my copy might warrant expertization. CV difference is $7.50 vs $225
  • Balance of probability Greg, yours has the S added after.
    These were a mess, so there were quite a few that ended up with the S missing, and so it was added. Where they are printed, they align perfectly.
  • Kind of what got my attention Scott. I would think that if it was applied all at once, everything would be aligned. If the "S'" was added afterwards by hand, it seems that it could have any kind of mis-alignments...up, down, left, or right of the "TAMP".
  • edited April 2022 0 LikesVote Down
    All the examples I've seen of the added S have some misalignment.
  • Either way, still a nice stamp
  • Anybody notice that the two examples pictured do not have the same type of overprint. Look at the Serifs.
  • edited April 2022 0 LikesVote Down
    A couple of other MR6c examples I found today. I know they may be difficult to see but I did notice a difference. One looks, though, as if it maybe was applied with more pressure. I don't know...that's why I'm asking.

Jam MR6c
    Jamaica MR6c
  • The S that is inverted has the serif pointing outward which is on the bottom with yours Greg but is on the top for the true MR6c.