Another bogus stamp... GOOD GRIEF

Comments

• YAY! 2 for 2.
  • John,
    Yes you are right I forgot they said it was never hinged. Of course there was no scan of the reverse though.
  • edited April 15 0 LikesVote Down
    An earlier post about a #389, got me looking at #388.
    An often faked Washington/Franklin coil.
    I see that examples with certs are being listed for over $2,000.
    But one seller had three uncertified examples listed for $350-$500.
    (The $500 one is now gone)

Why wouldn't a dealer spend 30 or 40 bucks to certify a stamp if the return could be an extra thousand dollars?

There is also this pair that is obviously not a #388.

https://www.hipstamp.com/listing/us-388-mint-line-pair-og-hr/45661405

And this pair. I'm not an expert, everything I know has come from Mr. Payton.
    I'm suspicious because the top cut is not parallel with the red dividing line.

https://www.hipstamp.com/listing/us-388-mint-pair-og-lh/45657034
  • Alan,
    Yes, the first one would be a 391, not a 388, but I don't believe it is authentic either. The perforation comes out to be perf 9 as opposed to perf 8.5, and the perf hole is much too small for this issue. It's a fraudulently perforated 384V Imperf Coil, if it watermarks as single-line (probably does).

The latter 388 is suspect, but there are a lot of characteristics that appear to make it a candidate. So without having it in hand, I can't fully make a judgement call on it, but a stamp valued at $3,500 for the pair, the balance of probability if this were an authentic MNH pair, it would have a cert with it already...
    So yes, its suspicious, but I can't make a definitive call on it, so I have to leave it alone. The other is a total misidentify, and a fake, (yes FAKE), so it should be pulled.
    I've reported it, as well as messaging the seller.
  • Scott,

Yes the first one is not a 388 and it is not a 391 either as you said the perforation is not right and the holes are too small.