Why?

13»

Comments

• I really think it is an individual process.
    We all collect different formats over time.
    So at some time I do not want what I collected 5 years ago or so(maybe 10).
    Thing is let it go to add dollars to my current obsession.
    Something that all must learn or understand, EVERY stamp you have in your collection is only worth what another individual collector is prepared to pay for it, no matter what a catalog value says it's worth.
    And if one thinks that the stamps in their collection are equal o the value of Scott, SG, or who ever, your dreaming.
    See if a dealer will give you full Cat. Value of any stamp you wish to sell, won't happen.
    And I have 50 years experience up my sleeve
  • edited March 2017 2 LikesVote Down
    Why would anyone expect a dealer to pay 100% of catalog value? Is a dealer supposed to sell the stamp at a price higher than catalog? The dealer has to make a profit to pay the bills and live. Most collectors are notoriously cheap when it comes to buying, but want top dollar when selling. How many here would buy stamps on this site if all the stamps being sold were priced at full catalog value or higher? Yet, many collectors expect a dealer to do what they won't, and some will wrongly call the dealer a crook when he doesn't. Many collectors need to get a reality check on how retail works.
  • Michael, dealers pay absolutely nothing near catalog value.
    They have to sell at around 30% of full catalog, or we would not buy from them, would we?
    So I would say the most they would pay is 10%
  • 30 years ago I purchased from a dealer in Sydney, Australia FDC's at 30% of face value.
    Soaked the stamps off and sold them as fine used.
    Now lets say 30 years ago ONE cover had a face value of $1-00, I paid 30 cents, what did the seller get?
    Bugger all